Rotary Club of Sault Ste. Marie
Rotary Club of Sault Ste. Marie

Sports Awards Dinner





Past Winners- HP Broughton Award
2022        Rory Kerins
2020        Team Brad Jacobs
2019        Drew Bannister
2018        The 2017-2018 Soo Greyhounds team
2017        Blake Speers and Rebekah Trudel
2016        Mike Amadio
2015        Natasha Doroodian
2014        Brad Jacobs and Mac Marcoux
2013        Brad Jacobs Curling Rink
2012        Soo Thunderbirds Hockey Team
2011        Brad Jacobs Curling rink
2010        Tyler Kennedy
2009        Richard MacLennan
2008        Sault Steelers
2007        Craig Hartsburg/Mike Hall and Soo North Stars
2006        Brigitte Acton
2005        Sherri Smith
2004        Jesse Jakomait
2003        Brigitte Acton
2002        Craig Hartsburg 
2001        Jessica Tuomela
2000        Andrew Grigg
1999        Jennifer Fratesi
1998        Marty Turco/Mount St. Joseph Girls Basketball Team
1997        Ted Nolan
1996        Marty Turco
1995        Darren Zack
1994        Kevin Scott
1993        Soo Greyhounds/Paul Dipietro
1992        Ted Nolan/Ron Francis
1991        Dr. George Shunock/Soo Greyhounds
1990        Al Harnden/Curling Team
1989        Nick Taylor
1988        Kevin Scott
1987        Steve Beaupre
1986        Pan Giiangualano/Al Harnden, Mike Coulter, Richard Evoy, Rick Elliott
1985        Soo Greyhounds
1984        Ivan Boldirev
1983        Rocky DiPietro
1982        Wayne Dustin
1981        Soo Greyhounds
1980        Lou Nanne
1979        Brian Gualazzi
1978        I-500 Racing Team
1977        Jo Forman
1976        Steve Nolan
1975        Dennis Collins/ Frank Nolan Sr.
1974        Jack Valiquette
1973        Steeler Football Team
1972        Jack and Dave MacFarlane, Doug Clattenberg, Mike Boyd
1971        Lee Rodgers, Jack Stewart 
1970        Tony Esposito
1969        not awarded
1968        Jim Kramer Sr.
1967        Phil Esposito
1966        Phil Esposito/ Bob Tombari
1965        Reno Pettenuzzo
1964        John Brothers
1963        Abbie Naccarato
1962        Ben Littner
1961        Merlin Moore
1960        Ola Gard
1959        Bruno Ochman
1958        Angelo Bumbacco
1957        Tupper Toombs
1956        Tom Tipton



The Rotary Sports Awards was first called the Sports Celebrities Dinner and was established in 1956 as a fund raising endeavour for Rotary’s work for children with physical disabilities.

An award was initiated that year to recognize Sault Ste. Marie’s Sportsperson of the Year. A trophy was donated by A.Y. Broughton, a past District Governor of Rotary, in honour of his father, also a Rotarian, the late H. P. Broughton.  The first person  selected through a poll of Sportswriters and Sportscasters was Tom Tipton.

In 1965, the George Wallace Memorial Trophy was awarded for outstanding contribution in the field of recreation as a volunteer. This selection is made by members of the Community Services Board. Wilf Ross was the first recipient.  In 1995 this was moved to a separate presentation.

In 1969, two awards were added:  the Walter Lowe Memorial Trophy to the top male high school athlete as  selected by the Physical Education Directors of the city secondary schools, and the B’nai B’rith Award to the graduating secondary school student combining athletic ability with academic achievements as selected by the Principals of the secondary schools in concert with Senior Board Officials of both the  Public and Roman Catholic systems.

In 1970, with the termination of the Sports Celebrity Dinner, a Sports Awards Luncheon was scheduled each June at a regular Rotary meeting.

In 1980, the Ross Winslade Memorial Trophy came into being to honour the memory of a highly respected secondary school Principal. This was a team trophy awarded to the secondary school accumulating the most points within the city for all boys and girls sports sanctioned by the Secondary School Athletic Association.

In 1982, the program was further expanded to include inductions to the Sault Ste. Marie Hockey Hall of Fame. This was later taken over by the city in 1992.

In 1987, the Awards Luncheon became the Awards Dinner so that sufficient time would be available to pay proper tribute to all of the winners. In the same year, a special award was presented to the top male athlete in each of the four major high school sports. Wrestling was added as a fifth sport in 1995, curling and badminton in 1999, cross country in 2000, and soccer in 2005.

In 1990, Rotary continued its involvement in recognition of secondary school sports by establishing the Russ Ramsay High School Hall of Fame, named in his honour. This hall is designed to recognize and honour individuals who have made an exceptional contribution to the male and/or female high school athletic program in Sault Ste. Marie. The first inductee to the Hall of Fame was Russ Ramsay.

Powered by Miramar Design Studio Inc.